Coming April 24, 2018

brenner hardback.jpg
TFS+on+amazon.jpeg
I was captivated by this irresistible tale of families and lovers, the secrets we keep, and the healing we need. THE HUSBAND HOUR is page-turner with a soul as deep as the ocean.
— Nancy Thayer, author of A NANTUCKET WEDDING

When a young widow's reclusive life in a charming beach town is interrupted by a surprise visitor, she is forced to reckon with dark secrets about her family, her late husband, and the past she tried to leave behind.

Lauren Adelman and her high school sweetheart, Rory Kincaid, are a golden couple. They marry just out of college as Rory, a star hockey player, earns a spot in the NHL. Their future could not look brighter when Rory shocks everyone-Lauren most of all-by enlisting in the U.S. Army. When Rory dies in combat, Lauren is left devastated, alone, and under unbearable public scrutiny. 

Seeking peace and solitude, Lauren retreats to her family's old beach house on the Jersey Shore. But this summer she's forced to share the house with her overbearing mother and competitive sister. Worse, a stranger making a documentary about Rory tracks her down and persuades her to give him just an hour of her time.

One hour with filmmaker Matt Brio turns into a summer of revelations, surprises, and upheaval. As the days grow shorter and her grief changes shape, Lauren begins to understand the past-and to welcome the future.

A gifted storyteller, Jamie Brenner’s THE HUSBAND HOUR redefines ‘happily ever after’ and lays bare the complexities of imperfect love, loss and moving forward. THE HUSBAND HOUR is a testament to strong women everywhere whose strength is often borne out of sorrow and struggle. A must read for book clubs and any place women gather.
— Tanya Biank, author of ARMY WIVES: The Unwritten Code of Military Marriage
Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Jane Green will adore Jamie Brenner’s THE HUSBAND HOUR, a poignant and powerful tale of one woman’s journey to find peace against the idyllic backdrop of her family’s seaside home. Forgiveness, homecoming, healing, and a second chance at love make for a heady cocktail that will keep readers captivated long after they have turned the final page.
— Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of THE ORPHAN'S TALE
A smart, insightful novel that delivers deep truths about marriage, family, and what it takes to truly move on from a trauma. I absolutely loved it. This is Jamie Brenner’s best book yet, and will be equally comfortable in both your beach bag and at your book club.
— Brenda Janowitz, author of THE DINNER PARTY
A tale of the complexities of sisterhood, love, and the secrets we keep—even from ourselves—The Husband Hour will grab you from the first sentence and hold you in its grasp until the last.
— Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of SLIGHTLY SOUTH OF SIMPLE and THE SECRETS TO SOUTHERN CHARM
A powerful story of love and loss set in a dreamy beach town. THE HUSBAND HOUR is the first must-read of the summer!
— Fiona Davis, author of THE ADDRESS and THE DOLLHOUSE
THE HUSBAND HOUR is insightful and inspiring in its depiction of an isolated young widow who can no longer run from her family’s mysterious past. Brenner is an expert at crafting characters who are relatable and authentic. It’s the perfect book club read!
— Emily Liebert, author of SOME WOMEN and Those Secrets We Keep
With her unique flair for capturing the complexity of family dynamics, Jamie Brenner has written her most compelling and touching novel yet. THE HUSBAND HOUR is a beautiful story of grief, healing, the power of forgiveness, and the enduring love of family.
— Amy Poeppel, author of SMALL ADMISSIONS
In THE HUSBAND HOUR, Jamie Brenner has crafted a poignant story about the turmoil of secrets and the redeeming power of the truth. Delving into complex issues of family, love and grief, this novel is ideal for book clubs and those who believe our flaws are as significant as our strengths. A captivating read!
— Karma Brown, bestselling author of IN THIS MOMENT
A timely and important novel about brain injury in professional sports, and at the same it is a moving and deeply felt study of family relationships. Jamie Brenner is a true force in women’s fiction.
— Anita Hughes, author of EMERALD COAST and CHRISTMAS IN LONDON